Advanced Search

News & Announcements

Talk to Scientists, March 12th and 13th

On March 12th and 13th, four events are being organised where students can interact with scientists. More information on all events is here.

The following announcement describes one of these events, that will have a live connection to both the Antarctic and the Arctic:

____

Celebrate the International Polar Year (IPY) and virtually join researchers on IPY Science Day, 12 March 2008!

Interact with researcher conducting research in the Arctic and Antarctic.
These are real-time, interactive events where you can ask questions and view photos! Anyone can register for these events and participation is free!

For more information about PolarTREC or to register for Live from IPY events, visit http://www.polartrec.com

Or contact Janet Warburton or Kristin Timm or call the Arctic Research Consortium of the United States
(ARCUS) at 907-474-1600

***********************************************
Live From IPY Event Information
***********************************************
You may register for this live events at:
http://www.polartrec.com/live-from-ipy/overview

12 March is IPY Science Day, focusing on Changing Earth; Past, Present, and Future.

The IPY Science Day on March 12th will focus on change over geological time, especially the glacial and interglacial periods that have occurred during the past million years, and cycles of ocean- atmosphere interactions that give rise to regional climate variations on scales of decades to centuries. Understanding these processes, and the science projects that investigate
them, is critical in order to put recent human- induced climate change into context.

Join the Live from IPY event on 12 March and talk to researchers in the Arctic and Antarctic conducting research that relates to changing earth.

Event starts at 9:00 AM Alaska Standard Time [8:00AM HST, 10:00AM PST, 11AM MST, 12PM CST, 1PM EST].  Register for this live event at:
http://www.polartrec.com/live-from-ipy/overview

Add A Comment

Please use these fields to leave a public comment on this entry. For direct correspondence with the IPY International Programme Office, please see Get Involved or email the IPY Programme Office.

Name:*

Email:*

Location:

Website:

Please enter the word you see in the image below:



Comment:*